The CERATIZIT Challenge by La Vuelta is the first women's cycling race organised by Unipublic. The race was created in 2015, coinciding with the last stage of La Vuelta, and held on an urban circuit in the centre of Madrid. Since then, it has been consolidated as a race in and of its own, emerging as one of the most important stage races on the Women's World Tour calendar.

In its first three editions, the Madrid Challenge (the race’s original name) was held on a single day, around a circuit specifically suited to sprinters. The first winner, in 2015, was the now-retired American, Shelley Olds. She was succeeded, on two consecutive occasions, by Belgium's Jolien D’Hoore, the only rider to hold more than one victory at the CERATIZIT Challenge by La Vuelta among her honours, in 2016 and 2017.

2018 was a year of growth and development for the race. For the first time, the route was extended beyond the main streets of Spain's capital, but remaining within the region. In a race that lasted the weekend, the first stage was a T.T.T held in Boadilla del Monte. Team Sunweb left no room for its rivals and recorded the fastest time. The Netherlands’ Ellen van Dijk (Sunweb), also finished on top of GC.

In 2019, the CERATIZIT Challenge by La Vuelta again included a new feature, switching to an I.T.T, while keeping the same route in Boadilla del Monte. Germany's Lisa Brennauer, a specialist in this type of stage (2014 World Time Trial Champion), took the victory and held the leader’s jersey into Madrid, becoming the current winner of this race.



YearWinnerPoints classificationBest young riderBest team
2015 Shelley OLDS (USA)      
2016 Jolien D'HOORE (BEL)      
2017 Jolien D'HOORE (BEL)      
2018 Ellen VAN DIJK (NED) Ilaria  SANGUINETI (ITA)    

Follow us

Receive exclusive news about Madrid Challenge